YUVA Mauritius

YUVA Mauritius has a very strong presence in Mauritius’ 9 districts, consisting of 1 city, 4 towns, 130 villages, and the capital, Port Louis. YUVA’s head office is found in a prime location, at the centre of Port Louis.

Mauritius lies about 500 miles (800 km) east of Madagascar in the Indian Ocean. Its outlying territories are Rodrigues Island, situated about 340 miles (550 km) eastward, the Cargados Carajos Shoals, 250 miles (400 km) northeastward, and the Agalega Islands, 580 miles (930 km) northward from the main island. Mauritius also claims sovereignty over the Chagos Archipelago (including Diego Garcia), some 1,250 miles (2,000 km) to the northeast, although this claim is disputed by Britain.

The island of Rodrigues used to be the tenth district of Mauritius. It gained autonomous status in 2002. Its capital is Port Mathurin.

List of Districts in Mauritius:
  1. Black River
  2. Flacq
  3. Grand Port
  4. Moka
  5. Pamplemousses
  6. Plaines Wilhems
  7. Port Louis (Capital of Mauritius)
  8. Rivière du Rempart
  9. Savanne
Map of Mauritius
Map of the districts of Mauritius named in local names