Pamplemousses is a district of Mauritius, located in the north-west of the island, and is one of the most densely populated parts of the island. The name of the district comes from the French word for grapefruits. The district has an area of 178.7 km2 and the population estimate was at 139,966 as of 31 December 2015.

The district hosts the SSR botanical garden, or Jardin Botanique Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, renamed in 1988 in honour of the first prime minister of Mauritius. The garden was first constructed by Pierre Poivre (1719–1786) in 1770. The area is 25 hectares. The garden features spices, ebonies, sugar canes and many more. It also features lotuses and 85 varieties of palms from Central AmericaAsiaAfrica and the islands around the Indian Ocean. The district is the home of the Pamplemousses SC local football team.

YUVA Pamplemousses.

The Pamplemousses District include different regions; however, some regions are further divided into different suburbs. YUVA Pamplemousses has implemented local teams in the following areas of the district:

  1. Arsenal
  2. Baie-du-Tombeau
  3. Calebasses
  4. Congomah
  5. Crève-Cœur
  6. D’Épinay
  7. Fond du Sac
  8. Le Hochet
  9. Montagne Longue
  10. Mapou (Northern part in Rivière du Rempart District)
  11. Morcellement Saint-André
  12. Notre-Dame
  13. Pamplemousses
  14. Piton (Eastern part in Rivière du Rempart District)
  15. Plaine-des-Papayes
  16. Pointe-aux-Piments
  17. Terre-Rouge
  18. Triolet
  19. Trou-aux-Biches
  20. Ville-Bague (Eastern part in Rivière du Rempart District)
Map of Mauritius
Map of Mauritius island with Pamplemousses District highlighted